Social Justice Awards Ceremony


These awards seek to honor unsung members of the University of Illinois campus and community who have sought to address marginalization, oppression, and/or privilege in their communities.

The Social Justice Awards header with orange and blue comic style illustrations of superheroes and fists


Awards Ceremony

The 13th Annual Social Justice Awards Ceremony will be held:

  • Date: Wednesday, April 24, 2024
  • Time: 5:00-7:00 pm
  • Location: University YMCA, Latzer Hall, 1001 S. Wright St., Champaign


Nominations for outstanding undergraduate students, graduate students, staff/faculty members, alumni, and registered student organizations are now open and will remain open through March 8, 2024.

Nominate yourself or someone else!

Nominations due March 8, 2024 at 11:59 CST.

Previous Social Justice Awards

Diversity and Social Justice Education Social Justice Awards are for an unsung undergraduate student, graduate student, staff or faculty, alumnus, and registered student organization that has sought to address marginalization, oppression, and/or privilege. 

2022 Awards

Outstanding Undergraduate

Outstanding Graduate

Outstanding Staff/Faculty

Outstanding Alumni

Outstanding Registered Student Organization

2021 Awards

Outstanding Undergraduate

  • Keyana Diaz
  • Surabhi Kiran
  • Sophie Luijten
  • Maram Safi

Outstanding Graduate

  • Kitan Akinosho
  • Andrea Kunze
  • Charlotte Prieu

Outstanding Staff/Faculty

  • Dr. Michelle Cox
  • Ruby Mendenhall

Outstanding Alumni

  • Rachel Storm
  • Dr. Lori West

Outstanding Registered Student Organization

  • National Organization of Minority Architect Students, President Musa Muhammad
  • Student National Medical Association, President Kitan Akinosho

2020 Awards

Outstanding Alumna Award

  • Kaytlin Reedy-Rogier

Outstanding Faculty/Staff Award

  • Dr. Johnell Bentz
  • Dr. Carolyn Randolph-Kato

Outstanding Graduate Student Award

  • James Steur
  • Rayven N. Morrow

Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award

  • Jameelah McCregg
  • Sudarshana Rao